DIYHiFi.org

For the sake of audio
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 4:33 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:48 am 
Hen

Hello diyhifi,

As a non-electronics person (I work in IT as a Unix SA) .....yeah I know it's my own fault :banghead:

I was wondering what the good people of diyhifi had to say about "Class-I" ...or as the subject says
(Balanced Current/Opposing Current) amplifiers? I'm told the topology is the best solution for
switching amplifiers ?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:43 pm 
Cow

http://www.crownaudio.com/amp_htm/amp_info/bca.htm

US Pat 5657219

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:03 pm 
Account disabled on owner's request

Hi,

Just remember that despite them calling it "Class I", it's still a Class D amplifier.

It's one solution that works, the best? Likely not. It seems to overcomplicate things in order to address certain problem areas like say flywheel current flowing through the body diodes of the mosfets, when there are much cheaper, simpler and more exacting ways of minimizing it. Not saying it's bad though, but really, how balanced can it be when it depends on the matching of two coils, and what are all the other drawbacks of them?

Maybe this thread could be moved to the class d section ?

Cheers,
Chris

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 11:17 am 
Hen

TragicallyDistorted wrote:
.......how balanced can it be when it depends on the matching of two coils......?

Thanks Tragic, I think I get it.

I'm more then happy to move this to class-d.....how would I do that?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:30 pm 
Sheep

Moved thread to Class D.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:36 pm 

Thanks.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 4:18 pm 
Cow

I think even with unmatched inductors this solution is helpful to reduce the ripple in the output signal by great extend. It allows for a half bridge to get a similar ripple frequency doubling (and theoretically no speaker ripple at zero input) as you can normally reach with a double PWM full bridge.